Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Custom skin and Wheatley looking at player help

Page 1 of 4Next

Hello, this is my first time posting here and I'm stuck on two things. Any help is appreciated.

First off, how do I change the skin of Wheatley so I can use another core eye for a mod pack? If I do re-skin him,
how will I make others be able to play my mod pack with the least effort of downloading textures? I've already created the two files (one the text and one the image) for the skin.

Second, how do I make the core turn to face the player on its management rail, like in the intro to the game. I'm using three prop_dynamics (the core, the attacher, and the stick that fits in the rail.)

Any help is appreciated.

When life gives you lemons, make apple juice and have everyone wonder how you did it.
Musical website Moddb

Hello, and welcome to the forums!

1. In order to make ppl watch your custom skins you should pack the 2 files for your texture into the .BSP before publishing the map. I don't know how you customize your model, if hexing it or decompiling-recompiling, but you should surely pack the model too.
In order to do so, you need pakrat. there are MANY topics here about this little app, use the Search feature (locate the button on the middle top of this page). However if you encounter problems with it, just post them and we'll help you out.

2. To achieve the core facing to the player, you can parent your prop_dynamic core to a brush entity called func_tank (then parent the func_tank to your other prop_dynamics that follow the rail...), then fire an output via a logic_auto like so:

- OnMapSpawn > [func_tank name] > SetTargetEntity > !player

Good luck!

ImageImageImageImageImageuseful tools and stuff here on TWP :thumbup:
[spoiler]ImageImageImageImageImage[/spoiler]

Josepezdj is almost right on, but be careful paking the skin: it won't show up if it replaces an existing texture. It's a "feature" in games using the VPK system.